Garmin Edge 705 failure

itboffin
itboffin Posts: 20,064
edited February 2011 in Commuting chat
I was hoping that I wouldn't fall victim to the edge "brick" issue but sure enough after todays 3hr 20min ride I plugged the USB cable in and my computer (mac) came up with unrecognised disk error :?

turned off/on (I work in IT) several times, swapped cables, tried 5 computers of different flavours, soft resets x many many and eventually a hard reset and still nothing :evil:

I've only used it a dozen or so times since I bought it in Dec, not very impressed to say the least.

I guess it's back to Garmin, if they send me a refurbished in return I will be pissed off :evil:
Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.

Comments

• fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Unlucky. Deffo complain if you don't get a new one - it's only a few months old.
  • itboffin
    Oh I will, I've read that forcing the device into disk mode then reformatting the internal flash can fix it but surely that would erase whatever OS and basemap img plus all the settings making it a true brick or is there some kind of safe partition with those files?

anyone know ...?
    Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
    Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.
  • itboffin
    Found this, should I dare? if it fails will I duff my warranty?
    You could try a "Soft Reset", 705 manual page 2, then plug into your computer.

Then a "Hard Reset" if the soft did not work. See link below.
    http://www.gps4sport.com/gps-softwar...05-hard-reset/

If that does not work here is the format procedure.
    Use the following settings:
    a. File System: FAT32
    b.Volume label: GARMIN