Bike wrecked!!!!!! which bike to go for, small budget

jessshep3333
jessshep3333 Posts: 4
edited February 2011 in Commuting general
Hi, I'm new to bikeradar and this is my first post.

The day before yesterday a car knocked me off my bike and altho i only have a few knocks and bruises, i think that my bike is a write off. The car driver has explained that he will pay for any repair costs and/or costs for a new bike seems as it was his fault.

So...I would love a road bike/hybrid but the cost of my wrecked bike would have only been £300 new, so is there any decent bikes out there for about that much? I might be able to put in another £100 or so.

Also, i'm a bit worried about cycling on the roads again, has anyone else had an accident, how did you cope with the trauma of it all?

Thanks

Comments

• mudcow007
    mudcow007 Posts: 3,861
    hi! welcome to bikeradar

sorry to here about your "off" i have always found the best way to get over an accident is to get back on as soon as possible, maybe try riding around the park or soemwhere away from traffic for a bit to build your confidence?

im sure someone will recommend a bike to you, i personally use a mountain bike with skinny tyres for my commuting
    Keeping it classy since '83
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    Just do a search on the many posts kicking around on bike recommendations. £300 - £400 should get you a decent fast hybrid, especially if you hunt around a bit for 2010 sale bikes. Just be wary that the driver sticks to his words, because he can easily turn round and deny everything. Have you got all his details? Any witnesses?