Some OT advice needed

suzyb
suzyb Posts: 3,449
edited February 2011 in Commuting chat
If you read the rant thread you'll have seen my little rant.

I have been working on site for the past month and for a few months before christmas and I am really not liking it. I agreed to come and work on site to help out the company I used to work for, they had a lot of work to catch up on and it made things easier if I was in the same location.

Now however the pressure is off and the work is back to how it was when I worked here full time (less of the coding but plenty of waiting for clients). And I seem to have become just another employee but without the benefits employees get.

I want this contract over with frankly. But how do I say that without souring the relationship I have with the company.

Comments

• gtvlusso
    gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
    So, you are contracting - therefore your rates should be good and make up for the lack of employee benefits?

or did you take a low daily rate just to get the job?
  • suzyb
    Flat fee for the month. No doubt lower than I should be getting, and probably not much more (if any) than they would be paying a full time employee but I just said yes to their first offer.
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,404
    Unless it's an exclusive contract, you might need to do some hours for someone else. That could be used as a 'will you be needing me next week, as I have someone else who is asking for me?' way in to moving on without hurting anyone's feelings.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • suzyb
    It's not exclusive but I think the boss knows I don't have a lot on. I'm quite rubbish at this freelancing thing tbh.