Dmr singlespeed tensioner

b16 b3n
b16 b3n Posts: 301
edited January 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi there, ive just bought a singlespeed restored retro 1989 muddyfox courier comp. It has a DMR tensioner, but in transit the chain came off and im not sure if the chain should go below the roller or above it. has any got any diagrams, as i put it below the roller, and it didnt like it as there was to much tension it drag the back wheel into the frame which im very annoyed about as it was totally unmarked until then.

Any help will be much appreciated as im new to the singlespeed conversions. :oops:
" GET BACK CROC "

Comments

• chain can go either side, i found it easier to push the chain up.

http://www.dmrbikes.com/res/pdf/mainten ... nstall.pdf
  • b16 b3n
    hi thanks for the input, just been out to my cold garage to have a tinker, and its a dmr sts tensioner. All i want to know is how to set it up correctly ie on the slinder and what position to have and to find out what the little black thing is for? many thanks

ben
    " GET BACK CROC "
  • i think some pics are needed from you to see where you are..

it should look like this

SS-tensioner.jpg
  • b16 b3n
    ah thats a big help. i know what my problem is now. my drop outs are forward facing and the little black lug which fits into the drop out wont allow the tensioner to line up with skewer. AH wot a Basterd, didnt know what to look for and been mugged. This would explain why my wheel surged forward into the frame. Any suggestions as to any other tensioners so i wouldnt have to fit any adaptors into the dropout.Or could i use the sts with out it being attatched to the skewer? :cry:

Time for a beer i think.

Many thanks for your generous help on a saturday nite

ben
    " GET BACK CROC "
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702
    Get us a picture of the dropout. You almost certainly don't need a tensioner from what you've said...