My first events... I would like any advice... please?!

philspeck
philspeck Posts: 46
I've entered for the first time for the Forest of Dean Spring classic, and the 82 mile part of the Tour of Pembrokeshire...

I've never done anything like this before, and have so many questions!

any hints and tips for the actual ride?

how often are the stopping areas usually?

do many people ride with bags on their backs?

or do people stuff energy bars in pockets?

do you have to ride with your bell as per the law? (i presume you do...)

the list goes on as you can tell...

I'm more worried about that i'm a "beginner" than the distance. I don't fancy turning up with too little or too much and being the idiot for the day.
I am climbing the 3 Peaks, and cycling between them to raise money for Help for Heroes

follow me on twitter: @climbandcycle

www.justgiving.com/climbandcycle
www.climbandcycle.info

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Forget the bell! The most important point is that you enjoy the ride and to do this you need to get into training (if you haven't already) because there is no substitue for getting some miles in but don't go mad (listen to your body and have a break from training when your body tells you to). There are quite a few online guides, if you don't have one then just hollar or have a poke around the training forum.

The routes are usually well signed so no need to worry there. When it comes to feeding, the guide is to (roughly) eat as much carb in g per hour as your weight in kg and drink about 500ml of water per hour but don't fret, many folks on here have their own ways of getting through a ride.

You may find a backpack gets very uncomfortable for long rides, but I have seen guys with them. Then again, on some rides I have seen trikes, MTBs and one chap who was in fancy dress!