Uneven tread and tubeless problems?

TheJackal
TheJackal Posts: 169
edited February 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Just fitted some new Syncros tyres that I've never used before and noticed that when I spin the wheel the tread seems to turn unevenly. The outer tread knobs, on one side, are definitely not parallel throughout the whole tyre.

Never had this problem before with Maxxis or Schwalbe.

How likely is it that the tread is actually uneven? Or is it possible that the bead isn't seated right? The other one seems OK.

Another thing is that having ridden the tyre once, it does stay up but does tend to lose air over a period of 3 days, if not topped up.

I use a ghetto tubeless set-up but have never had any problems before.

Maybe I should just over-inflate it, to make sure that all the tyre is seated in the rim?
2012 Santa Cruz Highball Carbon 19 lbs
2009 Ibis Tranny __ lbs

Comments

• coopsman1
    coopsman1 Posts: 337
    Give it a good pump up to around 50psi and then submerse in your bath tub.

Obviously only put in enough to cover the side wall. that should help to identify any leaks.
  • TheJackal
    TheJackal Posts: 169
    Thanks Coopsman1.

Doean't really explain the uneven tread but I'll do this to see if there's any air coming out from elsewhere.
    2012 Santa Cruz Highball Carbon 19 lbs
    2009 Ibis Tranny __ lbs
  • Dirtydog11
    Dirtydog11 Posts: 1,621
    TheJackal wrote:
    Thanks Coopsman1.

Doean't really explain the uneven tread but I'll do this to see if there's any air coming out from elsewhere.

The chances are the tyre bead is not seated properly. Check it is not pinched on the rim anywhere.

I've found the easiest way to get the bead to seat is to......... remove the wheel and stand on the pinched section of tyre then push the top of the rim away from you.
  • cavegiant
    cavegiant Posts: 1,546
    Hi,
    I really hope you have not pumped to 50 psi, on some ghetto (most) that will stretch the bead and cause a blow out!