superstar plasma chain device

an_original_name
an_original_name Posts: 339
edited February 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
so i've been running one of these in a 1x9 setup for 2 months or so now and i love it. however, i've recently noticed that there is very little clearance between the plate and my back tyre.

DSC00599-1.jpg

that gap is about 5mm. when pedaling out of the saddle or cornering hard i can hear the tyre rubbing against the plate, presumably because the frame/tyre/wheel is flexing slightly.

i can't rotate the whole plate round to move it down and away from the tyre because the upper guide then catches the chainstay when i bottom out the suspension, and i can't shim out the whole chain device as then it wont line up with the chain ring.

if i can't find a decent solution i'm just going to take a hacksaw to it and remove the part of the plate that is exposed after the lower guide, but i'd rather not.

anyone got any ideas?

EDIT: the wheel is ture and dished in the centre of the frame so that isn't causing it.

Comments

• *AJ*
    *AJ* Posts: 1,080
    Does the lower guide not slide up further towards the centre of the BB?
  • its not the guide that is catching the tyre, its the back plate.

this bit:
    DSC00600-1.jpg

sorry about the blury pictures. crap phone camera :roll:
  • *AJ*
    *AJ* Posts: 1,080
    Cut and file well, that's all I can suggest if the guide is in it's best position! Make sure you file it well so it wont cut into the tyre if it does hit.

Might be worth getting the wheel retensioned at your LBS though, mines as close as that and the wheel don't flex that much that it catches!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    lets have a nice side on pic of the whole device.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • DSC00603.jpg