Recommend a sit up style bike please

londonlivvy
londonlivvy Posts: 644
edited January 2011 in Commuting chat
My dad (nearly 70) wants a bike so he can cycle to the village and back (about 1.5 miles each way), which is fairly flat. He can't get on with my b-in-law's old hybrid as he doesn't like the riding position or the disc brakes - and says he wants :

- to sit upright
- 3 hub gears
- ideally back brake (ie pedal backwards and it brakes)
- chain guard
- rack or basket on which to store the pint of milk / newspaper he's just bought.

I have no knowledge of this type of bike but a quick google search came up with Kettler and Capital Cycles. Kettler is nearer £600 and Capital more like £200. The latter suits dad's budget a bit better but is it a false economy?

Any other suggestions of this kind of bike?

thanks.

Comments

• ndru
    ndru Posts: 382
    I would look at a Pashley. It's either a roadster or princess if your dad prefers a low instep, plus you get a basket. Although you want 3 gears I would go for the Sovereign models which offer 5 gears, skirt guards and a frame lock and it makes selling it later much easier. You can find some decent second-hand ones.
    If you want to splash more money then there are workcycles - although they cost more they hardly loose value because of their fantastic quality.
    Visit
    www.workcycles.com
    www.dutchbike.co.uk
    www.velorution.biz
    www.bobbinbicycles.co.uk

for more ideas
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661

• +1

• +1
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    Giant make some bun-gear nice city bikes with chainguards. The womens versions have step-through frames which may be easier to use. They come in manly beige rather than girly pink.
    It is very hard to find aftermarket chainguards.

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/bik ... 889/45557/
  • walkingbootweather
    walkingbootweather Posts: 2,443
    edited January 2011