Couple of probs!

GAZAMAN77
GAZAMAN77 Posts: 44
edited February 2011 in MTB beginners
I have been riding now for about 4 months and I absolutely love it. Have done a couple of 30(ish) mile steady trails and the odd technical route.
It makes a change for me to get so into something. I normally get ideas into my head and try new things but lose interest very quickly.
This isnt the case this time as every time I go out, I enjoy it even more.
I do however have a couple of things holding me back. Firstly up hill sections......I am absolutely rubbish at up hills. Within 5 mins of riding up hill my legs feel like lead, Im blowing out my backside and my glasses have steamed up.....Its frustrating as I want to be able to get through everything without any probs. Does anybody have any advice how to attack up hills? I'm guessing its just what you get used to and adjust over time but any advice would be welcome.
Secondly is lower back ache. Within an hour of riding my lower back starts to ache big time. I dont normally have any back issuesso I'm guessing its my position on the bike. I'm 6' 2" and ride a Giant Talon 2.5 (the largest size they do). I'm hoping this will get less over time but at the minute its doing my head in! Maybe exercising before going out? Or my bike setup? I dont really know what to adjust on the bike to change posture etc. If I went into a bike shop would they check the set up for me?
I really want to enjoy my rides but these 2 issues are holding me back and frustrating me.

Thanks in advance
Gaz

Comments

• My advice for tacking hills - keep practising and work on your fitness. I'm a fat bloke, and it's taken some getting used to but now I'm getting up hills pretty quick. I also found that by using SPD pedals it helped, as if your attached to the pedals more, your overall efficiency tends to be improved (this does obviously depend on riding styles).