is a hardtail capable

sparky803
sparky803 Posts: 29
edited January 2011 in MTB general
im pretty new to riding and would like to know what a hardtail is actually capable of. all the mags i read to review trails nearly always seem to both recomend and feature fsussers.does this mean hardtails are not suitable for most red trails or worse.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Pretty much anything. Depending on the bike (and rider).
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Hardtails can do anything a full sus can do. Even a cheap hardtail can do red/black trails.
  • aidso
    aidso Posts: 493
    I find/found starting on a hardtail makes you a better rider at the technical stuff as due to not having a rear shock you are forced to be smoother through rocky sections and how to carry your speed out of a tricky situation. A full susser can make you "lazy" as you'll just rattle over an obstacle knowing that the slightest miscalculation will be soaked up by the suspension :).
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    sparky803 wrote:
    does this mean hardtails are not suitable for most red trails or worse.

Oh hell no! It does depend on the hardtail but an allroundy hardtail like a 456 or similiar is more capable than an XC full suss, when things get steep and rough. Geometry and componentry is far more important than whether the back end is bouncy or not IMO- I'd take my Mmmbop down the world cup DH route at fort william or any of the innerleithen DH runs, but I'd think twice before doing it on an Anthem X. (I took my Soul down part of it in fact, with its 1600 gram wheels, 2.1 tyres and skinny forks)