What bike should I buy ?

kjpeel
kjpeel Posts: 6
edited January 2011 in Road beginners
Hi,
I appreciate there will likely be a vast range of opinions on what bike I should buy but I thought I'd ask anyway. I've found the reviews on this site useful but am not really sure I could read every single one and even then know the right answer.

I guess I should share a little about me and my requirements so people can have a good guess at what might be appropriate.

I have been commuting by bike for a few years on a £500 hybrid (GIANT FCR3) and am largely happy with that and intend to continue to use it for that purpose. Last year though I did London / Brighton a couple of times and a few sprint tris so this year I want to get a bit more serious. I'm planning to do a few olympic tris this year and hope to do some decent rides as well, Paris perhaps.

I'm aware that I could probably do just as well by losing some weight from me not the bike. In reality I'm still focused on completing rather than competing. However with the bike to work scheme available (any my suspicion it might get cut) I decided to buy now and hopefully get years of use from some good quality.

So far I've considered the Trek Madone 4.5 and the Quintano Roo Tequllia. Not for any other reason than they were in the shop I looked at.

My budget is up to £2k

Comments

• Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    I hope you realise what a HUGE question this is?

The fact is, there is probably about a few dozen bikes well worth £2k.

So what do you do? Just look at the top 3 reviews in the magazines. Buy the "Bike of the Year" and be done with it.

The Cannondale Six Carbon Ultegra looks the one I would buy...or maybe a Bianchi...Or a ...or a ..no a....damn what a hard choice

:wink:
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4