Hydraulic vs Cable Disc Brakes

Kozak
Kozak Posts: 36
edited January 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi - I'm a novice contemplating buying a 'starter' mountain bike, and came upon this forum while searching the web. I'd like to get a bike with disc brakes. The modern higher spec bikes come with hydraulic brakes, but is there much more hassle with maintenance/adjustment as opposed to the simplicity of DIY cable that will just need cleaning/lubing/adjusting at times?

Also those in the know, how reliable are these new hydraulic brakes?

Comments

• Hydraulic is very reliable and involves less maintenance than cable. After all a cable will stretch and need adjustment, fluid will not. I do find that a lot of dirty and cold winter riding will sometimes affect the oil levels a bit, but usually the worst case scenario is bleeding your brakes once a year. Its not a hard job to do, but for the sake of £20 on average at your local shop its easier to get some one else to do it for you.

The difference in performance is massive. Go hydraulic :)

Having said all that, if u cant afford hydraulic, u can always upgrade at a later date if youve got cable discs anyway.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Can't add to that.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • singlespeedexplosif
    singlespeedexplosif Posts: 1,564
    edited January 2011
    The difference in performance is massive. Go hydraulic Smile

I'd have to argue with that one. Well set up cables can outperform certain hydros. I replaced my mono minis with Avid BB7s and the difference was phenomenal. And I know several people who have found the same with various combos. I think a lot of people haven't actually tried cable, and just assume hydro > cable. There's a *small* improvement in my Juicys over my BB7s, but not massive.