Bike Lock Survey (Please Help)

93col15
93col15 Posts: 16
edited January 2011 in Commuting general
Hi,

I'm a student currently undertaking research in bike lock design at Loughborough university, with the aim of improving bike lock design. Please fill in my survey by clicking the link below it'll only take a few minutes.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/MZK6PCD

Massive thank you and a happy new year.

Colin

Comments

• Some wooly questions and assumptions but done as best I can
  • 93col15
    Some wooly questions and assumptions but done as best I can

Hi thanks for your feedback it's very useful and i've made some small changes to the survey on the back of it.

I'm sorry some of the questions might seem silly but I hope they will prove a point and what people need. please feel free to post anything else that could be of interest.

Many Thanks
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    to sum up, the best bike lock is what the insurance company say.

it is often easier to cut the frame than the lock.

a good lock maybe worthless if there is an easier way to make money.,
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Just filled that it.

My example: I ride a bike I got for free (abandoned), but have probably spent £100 on improving. My lock costs £45, which may seem excessive as a percentage, but the cost/hassle of replacing even a "free" bike makes it worth it.
  • Done.

looks like there may have been a bit of an agenda (to promote a lock that would be permanently fixed to bike). Apologies if this is not the case.