whats the best type of bike for commuting?

chris_bass
chris_bass Posts: 4,913
edited December 2010 in Commuting general
Hi

I started commuting in june on my hard tail mtb and thought id probably just do 2 or 3 days a week and mainly in the summer so didnt think much about what bike to get. But i enjoy it so much that i have been cycling everyday for the best 3 months or so, even in the cold and the snow, so now i'm thinking about an upgrade to my bike to make the journey even more enjoyable!!

what type of bike would you recommend? my route is about a 22 mile round trip (give or take half a mile or so!) and all on road, it has a few hills in it, nothing too serious but a couple that i dont look forward to!

I currently have the gt aggressor xc1 http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_512507_langId_-1_categoryId_165499 which has been great so far, 2500 miles without a problem really, just a snapped gear cable!
www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes

Comments

• Ah, the age old question! It's incredibly subjective and comes down to numerous factors. What are you more comfortable with: flat or drop bars? Do you need a rack and full mudguards? Does your route ever go onto anything rougher than tarmac? How much money do you have to spend? How much money do you want to spend? Will you use your commuter bike for rides beyond the journey in and out of work? Are you in among heavy traffic? Are you only on roural roads? Then there's frame material to consider also.

There is a very good argument for not spending a great deal of money on a commuter (unless you have super secure storage at work) as it's really about getting you from A to B safely and comfortably, but on a commute such as yours you may want something that can offer a little speed too.

Tell us a bit more about what you think you might like and we'll be able to help you further.
  • the best type is one you like and is comfy.