Entering the marmotte is foolish. discuss

godihatehills
godihatehills Posts: 237
So... Ive been riding bikes for 15 years ish,
Ive done mtbs marathons and 24 hour races, I did the etape caledonia last year with little training and got a 4.11 result....
Lets assume Ive done bugger all since then, at 6 foot I weigh a portly 13.5 stone and am SLOOOOOOOOOOOOW

would entering the marmotte be a bad thing? considering I am notoriously lazy and while I can complete events and race somewhat competively- its not enjoyable as I have to beat my ass to do it because, as I said, Im fat and SLOOOOOOW

is it possible to build a plan that I WILL STICK TO and get fit enough to compelete the event and enjoy it?
or should I just sell my bike, and concentrate on shooting commies on COD?

Comments

• Do it!!!!!!!! Sounds like you're worried rather unable to take part and do a good time. Worry not! It's painful and horrible but the sense of satisfaction of getting round is delicious and worth every impossible pedal stroke.
  • glasgowbhoy
    glasgowbhoy Posts: 1,341
    Given your usename do you think the Marmotte is the best suited event for you?
  • Having never climbed anything remotely alpine, I for one have absolutely no idea. I read some blogs and they give me hope, i read others and think i'm a complete idiot for entering... I just don't know what to believe.

However, the worst that can happen is i train my nuts off for the next 6 months and I don't get round (well, i could fly off the edge of a hairpin and find out that i can't fly).

I've convinced myself that it's one of those things i just have to do, and what better time than now. I'm not that fat (all relative), and there's just no way i can think about entering something that's over a year away, i.e. train in 2011, to enter in 2012.

I'm already excited about the prospect of training for a few other sportives along the way to make sure i'm in the fitness ballpark of managing.
    Steel Blue Fixed - Orange Backpack Cover