Piriformis syndrome and saddles

BlueScot
BlueScot Posts: 68
edited September 2014 in Road beginners
I've been riding regularly for 18 months, but in the last 4 months I've started suffering from nerve pain in my butt and down my leg when sitting, although generally not when riding. My doctor, who happens to be a keen cyclist, has diagnosed this as piriformis syndrome leading to pain in the sciatic nerve. He has suggested that I re-examine my saddle and riding position as the saddle may be putting pressure on the wrong place of my backside. (I'm also doing all the appropriate stretches.)

I've actually had a professional fit in the last 8 months, but I may need to re-examine my set up. Trouble is, I'm not sure whether, in general, it is better to bring the saddle forward to ease the pressure on the piriformis, or should it go back? My Fizik Arione saddle has been on the bike around 7 months - does anyone know whether its shape could be an issue? Maybe certain saddle shapes are better for this type of problem?
Any advice or suggestions (medical or cycling) would be much appreciated! Cheers.

Comments

• I also experience sciatic nerve pain but in my case, in the upper and outer left thigh. I find the symptoms can be relieved with stretching and have adapted my (completely unhealthy) lifestyle to accommodate a broader range of seating positions, so I sit cross legged more often (essentially).

From reading the following from this link at Sports Injury Clinic, the description fits what you're saying very well and it is my gut feeling that perhaps your could better alleviate this problem by adjusting the seat height? Though if you find you are not seated in a balanced position with your left side not putting in the same power as your right (again perhaps due to issues of length of leg reach to pedal), then that might be an issue also. I wouldn't rely solely on just one fitting no matter how expert it was if you are experiencing this level of discomfort.