New Cranks needed - advice please!!

crazy88
crazy88 Posts: 560
edited January 2011 in MTB beginners
Hello,

I am looking for some advice please, and I am new to cycling so haven't got my head around cranks yet.

A while back when cycling home I felt like my foot was slipping on the pedal. When i looked down I saw that one of my cranks (Left if looking down, without the chainrings on it) was about to fall out. I one-foot cycled a little bit more to get off the main road, and just as I did the crank cap fell out. Luckily I was about 200m from home at this point, so just got off to push it.

The offending part, a truvatic crank on my GT aggressor.
4836862261_05758baa41_b.jpg

I tightened it, and didn't think too much of it, but the next day the same happened. As it happens, I then was in the process of buying a cheap road bike off a mate for commuting and didn't ride the mtb much. Anyway, my crank still keeps coming loose, so I must have stretched (correct word?) the thread? Would this be correct?

So, I need new cranks I believe. Any advice for cheap(ish) cranks? I don't really want to pay more than £50 max. Is it possible to buy anything decent for this price range? I saw the shimano alvivo on chainreactioncycles for 26 but then read that they were pretty poo. Still looking around so may post up others for opinions, but also would love some ideas as to good ones.

Other than the crank length and number or teeth (correct terminology? ha) is there anything else I need to measure to make sure I get the correct sizes etc?

Thanks in advance!!!!
Out with the old, in with the new here.

Comments

• duron1
    duron1 Posts: 2,475
    You should not need new cranks. As long as the spline on the crank arm is not damaged then clean then up, slighty grease the bb shaft and use a new crank bolt and threadlock. Tighten to 38nm or as tight as possible without over doing it. Should be ok. Check after a short ride.