South wales routes

paulus69
paulus69 Posts: 160
edited December 2010 in Routes
Hi all,

I am relatively new to MTB, although I have ridden a fair bit on road. I am looking at getting my MTB skills up by doing some routes (ideally without roads!). I am based in the pontypool/cwmbran area so it puts me very close to Cwmcarn, but would like to build up a bit (its rated as red) on easier/less demanding routes.

I noticed there is the Crickhowell loop but not much detail on it, the MTB wales site just has a small thumbnail of a map with a route on.

Any suggestions??
Me on Strava
My cycling blog
Specialized Secteur 2012 / Carrera Vulcan v-spec

Comments

• welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    hi mate,

i live in pontypool and i ride quite regulary with silversladey from here who lives in cwmbran.

sladey's super fit, i'm a little bit lardy but feel free to come out with us if you'd like. i'll probably be going out next weekend.

BTW, on the cwmcarn route there's nothing too hard on it that you can't just roll :D
  • The tourist information office in Crickhowell sell all the routes for the Brecon Beacons listed on MB Wales (for about £6)

There is some good riding in Pontypool Park which will help get your confidence up, i would love to show you around but currently suffering from broken ribs. :cry::cry::cry:

If you start by the cafe and cycle up the track under the ski slope towards the Grotto you can venture off and explore the woods there is plenty of UNNOFICIAL stuff.

Also you could climb up to the Lamb inn and follow the natural track towards the Mountain Air pub. Then climb from the car park up a Rocky Road and you can either go right on to the top of the mountain or follow a track to Blaen Bran woods (above Cwmbran).

Enjoy,

I should be fit within a few weeks so i could show you a few routes

Silversladey
  • welshkev
    The tourist information office in Crickhowell sell all the routes for the Brecon Beacons listed on MB Wales (for about £6)