What Cross tyre?

mroli
mroli Posts: 3,622
edited November 2010 in Road buying advice
Decent cross tyre, allrounder really for some gravel path, some muddy bridleway, some tarmac, that has some puncture resistance (and won't break the bank)?

700c and no wide problems...

I have no idea I'm afraid - tips (and links!) would be great.

Ta muchly.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    FWIW most cross tyres designed for riding fast are pretty lightweight and don't offer much puncture protection. For training I've been using a pair of Specialized Houffalize for a few years and they've worn pretty well and roll surprisingly fast for a knobbly tyre - I can easily hold 20mph at 60psi. For cheap and strong, try Schwalbe Landcruisers - but a bugger to fit apparently!
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • bigpikle
    bigpikle Posts: 1,690
    Trouble is what you describe requires different tread patterns.What works well in mud wont be good for tarmac and vice versa. You'll have to find a good compromise but it will always be just that...

I got some Scwalbe CX Comps in the summer as an all-rounder and they have done well on grass, loose stuff and roll fast on tarmac. They arent great in deep mud etc but otherwise do pretty well - they have good edge nobblies so do help in looser stuff and cornering but the fairly flat centre area is great for firmer conditions. Cheap as well which is a bonus but I dont have huge experience with cross options so you might get some good options elsewhere. I'm racing on Challenge Griffos now but would want to ride tarmac on them for any distance as they really are an off-road tyre.
    Your Past is Not Your Potential...
  • mroli
    mroli Posts: 3,622
    Cheers guys - suspicions have been proved correct then, that there is no good "All round" tyre and I should just bite the bullet and get something and get on with it.