Mudguards for Sirrus - SKS or Tortec?

ForumNewbie
ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
edited November 2010 in Commuting chat
I was going to buy SKS mudguards for my Specialized Sirrus but as far as I can see the brackets on the front and back which connect to the frame, don't allow the mudguards to drop down far enough to go under the brakes. They would need some extra brackets which are not included in the pack.

I was therefore thinking I may be better going for Tortec mudguards as apparantly the Specialized Concept store near where I live sell these rather than SKS. Can anyone tell me whether Tortec mudguards are any good and whether they have the right brackets/fitments to fit to a Specialized Sirrus (2010 model).

Comments

• Craggers
    Craggers Posts: 185
    Might not be helpful but this months cycling actice has a load of clip on guards on test, including the tortec and sks ones
  • I'm a complete noob when it comes to cycling and accessories and even I managed to fit the SKS chromoplastics to my Sirrus Elite 2011. The brackets included in the kit were fine for the job but I did need to buy a long M5 bolt (and couple of washers) for the fixing through the front fork (the longest bolt included was too short).

Trimmed down the stays as recommended and looks like a job well done! Honestly, no problems with the fittings near the brakes, front or back (assuming last year's models are similar).
    Specialized Allez Elite 2011 *NEW*
    Specialized Sirrus Elite 2011
  • ForumNewbie
    Craggers wrote:
    Might not be helpful but this months cycling actice has a load of clip on guards on test, including the tortec and sks ones
    I think I saw that but as you say it was clip-ons it featured, rather than the full mudguards that I want.
  • ForumNewbie
    Blandiblub wrote: