New commuter bike advice purdy please

pianoleo
pianoleo Posts: 135
edited November 2010 in Commuting general
My Decathlon BSO hybrid has pretty much died a death. Back wheel has been throwing out spokes, two at a time, I've been replacing each broken pair as they go, and on a longer journey the other day a spoke went through the rim. The wheel is beyond repair and given it has a shimano nexus hub on it it's an expensive replacement. Given the bike's only three months old, I shall be having a little chat with the manager tomorrow about giving my money back and letting me take it elsewhere.

I'd been planning on a new bike in the spring, but any excuse....

I cover about 100 miles per week - I'm a self employed musician so whilst I'm a commuter some of my commutes are longer than others (a typical week sees me doing 6 miles each way, four times, a 28 mile round trip and a 20 mile round trip, plus nipping to Sainsbury's). Because of the nature of what I do, proper rear rack and guard eyelets are an absolute must, which knocks out most of the speedy racing bikes. I suppose I'm probably looking for a cyclocross or touring bike with drops. I live in Crystal Palace/Sydenham so I've got a hilly chunk - I'm going to need a few gears!

I've been thinking outside the box slightly - Brixton Cycles (local LBS) stock Surly amongst others, and the Cross Check could be a good option. Alternatively there's Evans and I could trek over the Edwardes in Camberwell if need be.

Any ideas? Needs to come in under a grand, and the Genesis Croix de Fer seems to be out of stock everywhere til next year....

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• How much do you have to spend?

I've never ridden one, but I think Surly's are overpriced for what they are.

On one Pompetamine Versa? Genesis Day One Alfine?

Ps. I too am a Musician living in the Crystal Palace are (thankfully at the bottom of the hill).
  • troj
    troj Posts: 43
    What instrument do you play??