Cannock Chase on a cyclocross bike

Richie G
Richie G Posts: 283
edited January 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all. I'm pretty much a total newbie when it comes to off-road, so bear with me.

I recently got myself a second hand 'cross bike, with a view to just using it as a winter commuter. However, a bit of goading from a club mate to try cyclocross has got me hooked! Having never ridden off road before, some of the singletrack in the races i have done has thoroughly exposed my bike handling and i'm looking to find some trails so i can work on my skills (and have fun). Are the trails at Cannock Chase (or other trail centres) suitable for a rigid 'cross bike? I realise that my bike may not be as suitable as a proper MTB - just checking that there are trails that i might be able to use it on.

Rich

Comments

• never ridden a cyclo croos before. If you have a sense of adventure you could try the dog, but its pretty rutted at the moment and may be too much for the bike.

You could try the blue route. Its off road and a very plesant ride. Paths are pretty good and wide. If you found that easy then give the dog a go.
  • jairaj
    jairaj Posts: 3,009
    Try out a few green and blue runs and see how you get on. Technically speaking you should be able to do all of Follow the Dog. But not sure how strong CX bikes are built you may have to learn to ride smoothly to prevent bits breaking.
  • bunyip
    bunyip Posts: 52
    you should be fine, theres nothing to rocky at cannock, me and my mate witnessed two cyclocrossers coming down jacobs ladder in the peaks a few weeks back :shock: I wouldn't advise that though
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Cross bikes are pretty tough, you could do virtually any trail centre trail in the UK on one, if you've got the skill. You'll be fine, it'll certainly show up your bike handling weaknesses compared to cross races!
  • Richie G
    Richie G Posts: 283