What do you wear in Winter ?

theshrew
theshrew Posts: 169
edited November 2010 in MTB general
Hi guys im a Noob here. My bike has just arrived WOOOOOOOO

I want to get out this weekend so all i need now a Helmet and some clothes.

I have a baselayer, shorts and gloves. What else should i get so i keep warm and hopefully dry over winter ? I need to keep costs down as ive already had to tell the Mrs the bike was half the price i actually paid lol

Could you guys give me some advice please, whats good and whats not.

I

Comments

• Good outer shell to keep out wind and a bit of rain. and a sensible light mid layer.

And i sometimes wear some tights under my shorts in winter for extra warmth.
  • Steve_F
    Steve_F Posts: 682
    A micro fleece works well for me, either as a top layer or under a waterproof.

Picked up two for £15 at the Trespass store the other day and am pretty happy with them so far.

Tend to be warm enough with knee pads and shorts on year round but my legs don't tend to get cold.

Skull cap for under the helmet and a buff are always good too.
    Current steed is a '07 Carrera Banshee X
    + cheap road/commuting bike
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    The only solid piece of advice I can offer is to keep your knees warm. I paid the price for not doing so!
    Be nice to them, and they'll be nice to you.
  • Yeh it's a fair point below a certain temp the fluid in the joints doesn't work so well, so it's worth keeping them nice and toasty.
  • Get thermal socks and use good footwear.
    When going through streams, puddles or water crossings at this time of year, its f**king cold!
  • El Capitano
    El Capitano Posts: 6,401
    The only solid piece of advice I can offer is to keep your knees warm. I paid the price for not doing so!
    Be nice to them, and they'll be nice to you.