Commuting along a dual carrigeway??

Marcus_C
Marcus_C Posts: 183
edited November 2010 in Commuting general
I've got a job!! Wahay!!!

Anyway I live in Sheffield and the Job is in Chesterfield, what I imagine could be a nice commute of about 12 miles, the only problem is the best way looking at google maps is straight down the A61 (a dual carrigeway). Does anyone commute either on this road or on a dual carrigeway. Is it a dangerously scary road or should I just MTFU and not bother about any lorries :? i am a fairly competant cyclist and have commuted by bike before just never down quite such a (I imagine) busy road.

Any and all advice is gratefully recieved, Marcus
- Genesis Equilibrium Athena
- Cannondale CAADX Force/105/Rival

Comments

• benno68
    benno68 Posts: 1,689
    Congratulations on getting a job.

I ride down a dual carriageway every now and then without any problems. However, no two roads are the same and I have no knowledge of the A61 I'm afraid.

The best piece of advice I can give is that if you are in any doubt over your safety on this stretch of road, find a suitable alternative route.

If you can, take a look at the traffic situation at rush hour before you start commuting by bike which may help you decide!

Pinarello Dogma 2 (ex Team SKY) 2012
    Cube Agree GTC Ultegra 2012
    Giant Defy 105 2009
  • Cj83
    Cj83 Posts: 58
    edited November 2010
    don't know that paricular area but for me i prefer to commute on a longer but more calm route. I just find it less stressful than having cars flying past me. Its not so much busy roads that make me worry and stop me relaxing on the commute - its fast ones where you know 1 mistake up by a driver and it could be game over. inevitable human error on a slower road and the consequences might not be so severe.

oh and congrats on the job, i was out of work for a while and know the relief to finally get working again!
  • Hi