Sealskinz

il_principe
il_principe Posts: 9,155
edited November 2010 in Commuting chat
I've got no experience of this brand other than what i read on here and elsewhere, but I'm starting to get the impresion that Sealskinz = Fail. Socks that fill up with water, and gloves that keep you neither warm nor dry. Fair impression?

Comments

• jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    That's my experience too. They were too thick for comfort as well.

I tried, I gave up #nin
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Depends on what you buy, expect.

The socks will fill with water assuming the water conforms to the laws of gravity. This issue can be minimised if you protect the top of the socks with the bottoms of your leg warmers/tights etc. The socks are easily wrecked by heat (don't put them on the radiator) but mine (merino lined sort) have been used daily for much of the year and, whilst they could be warmer, they are still clearly waterproof.

The gloves depend on which ones you buy. My winter gloves seem pretty good for my cold susceptible fingers though I doubt they'll keep them toasty without liners once the snow comes. There is a very similar looking pair of gloves made by Seal Skins called All Weather. This sounds like a fair alternative to the WInter Gloves but they are apparently terrible! Basically, they are supposed to breathe such that you can use them in, literally, all weathers. ie good for both warmer and colder conditions. Unfortunately, according to reviews, during warm weather they are too warm due to the breathability but in cold conditions not warm enough. So they are crap whatever the weather. The WInter Gloves get much better reviews but this is not always apparent in forum discussions.
    Faster than a tent.......
  • lastant
    lastant Posts: 526
    Yep, agree with both of you.