Pannier rack if I don't have fixing points?

shortyman
shortyman Posts: 48
edited November 2010 in Commuting general
Evening,
I have really enjoyed commuting this year and this weekend I did the inevitable and changed my hybrid for a racer. I love it!
Trouble is I have also become a big fan of panniers and having bought the bike second hand have realised that the new bike doesn't have the rack fixing points. Being a newbie I didn't even think of checking until I was stripping my hybrid. Is there a rack or set up out there that will enable me to use my altura panniers on a boardman team that doesn't have fixing points?
I would prefer to stay with panniers as I sometimes have to bring the laptop home.
Many thanks in advance,
Nicky

Comments

• Have a look at the Topeak Beam Rack. It fixes on the seat post and you can get a variety of sized panniers to fix to it.

Have one on my hybrid and it works really well even though it may not have the same capacity as traditional panniers.
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    Alternatively you can use p-clips on the seat and chain stays to mount your existing rack. In both cases though you'll be more restricted on weight.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    If you want to use a regular rack rather than a seat-post mounted one:
    Two options for the rear drop-out fixing:
      Use a standard rack and use P-clips to fix the rack to the seat-stays just above the drop-out
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/tortec/p-clips-ec006759
      Find a rack that uses it's own custom wheel skewer to attach to:
    http://www.cyclestore.co.uk/productDetails.asp?productID=23511 Or adaptors that do the same: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/tubus/adapter-set-for-quick-release-axle-mounting-ec007989