l'Etape or La Marmotte in 2011?

Hello all! New poster so go easy on me...!

I've had a look through all the recent post about these sportives and have taken them in as best I can but want to post to see if I can get a definitive answer to my questions!

Firstly, as the Etape to Alpe d'Huez is shorter (and more expensive) do people think it's worth doing the longer Marmotte instead, especially as it's more challenging and there is the Grimpe the next day - more bang for your buck and a better experience?!?!

Secondly, is it worth trying to get on these independently or better going with a tour company? It seems like plenty of money can be saved solo but I imagine the extra money is worth it for the lack of agro in the build up?

Finally...the million dollar question! I'm new to cycling and have been riding about two months having got the bug from my first triathlon. I'm 23, in what you may class as the generally 'fit' category of person, have completed two tri's and cycled 415km in 5 days over parts of the Southern Alps in NZ off the back of no training whilst travelling earlier this year (a 90 miler being my longest day)...

As a result, is La Marmotte a realistic goal for 2011? I'm building up my miles and planning to join a club in the new year! I'm fully aware it's bloody hard but I just need some confirmation it's manageable off 6 months training!

So to all those who've been there and done that, sorry for being a pain but...HELP!!!

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Hi James and welcome

La Marmotte is one of the toughest sportives there is. 5,000m ascent in just over 160km taking anything from 6.1/2 to 13 hours, it's a hard day in the saddle for sure.