The great divide: Housing benefit cap, where do you stand?

Comments

• I'm no economics expert, but wouldn't it make sense for the government to buy houses rather than pay peoples rent? Surely now the state is a major shareholder in numerous mortgage lenders they could take over the repossessed properties? I don't like the idea of building loads of "council" houses as this always causes areas that have stigmas attached.
  • bigmat
    bigmat Posts: 5,134
    W1 wrote:
    MatHammond wrote:
    I guess it depends how "pretty grim" is defined. Pretty grim for most people on here would probably involve not having sufficient disposable income to buy the occasional treat, have a nice holiday a couple of times a year etc. Pretty grim for those on benefits should be grimmer than that, but people need to be able to sustain a civilised existence - clean, secure housing, nutritional food, adequate heating etc. I think the balance is wrong at the moment, but I worry things will shift too far the other way. No easy answers as far as I can see.

Pretty grim means: no sky, no plasma TV, no holidays, no alcohol and no ciggs. None of those are necessary, all are luxuries and none of them can be justified using tax payers money. If you can "afford" them (i.e. choose to buy them over, say, food) then you don't need the help of the state.

As for below 18 degrees being "poverty" I couldn't agree more Matt. 18 degrees is comfortable. It's a long, long way from poverty.

Yep, we're on the same page on this one it appears. Education required, people need to realise what their priorities should be - fags, booze and Sky TV should be way down the list.
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,411