I'm new to bike racing, whats the difference between XC DH

2»

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    There won't be that many people there qwerty, you'll easily make the top 200!

The first step is definitely to buy a bike and get yourself riding! There's plenty of advice out there, Boardman do some excellent value bikes at the upper end of your range, or check out OnOne, you may be able to build a ScandAl or something, potentially a bit more 'racey' than a Specialized Rockhopper or similar.
  • Atz
    Atz Posts: 1,383
    I do 1-2 races a year, just for the experience. I don't go there to place, I go to get some riding in places I've never been before and get a fitness check after winter. If you want to do well, then you need to train. If you want to go and see what's what, give it a shot. What can you lose (apart from pride, entry fee and, if you're like me, all but two gears for an afternoon)?
  • D4V1D
    D4V1D Posts: 233
    njee20 wrote:
    The first step is definitely to buy a bike and get yourself riding! There's plenty of advice out there, Boardman do some excellent value bikes at the upper end of your range, or check out OnOne, you may be able to build a ScandAl or something, potentially a bit more 'racey' than a Specialized Rockhopper or similar.

It's clear to me now that when I asked the question what the difference between XC & DH, I should of asked what does XC & DH stand for, I've only just learnt that HT stands for Hard Tail.
    I've ridden about 250 miles in the last month or so (which is slightly above the norm). I work shifts and have the ability to get out in the day time (sucks when I'm at work through the night). I have always loved cycling, a point I was trying to make by showing my Falcon, I've owned that bike for the last 23 years, and it still looks in great shape ( I never ment to give the impression that I thought it was good enough to race on, that bike takes alot of power to move along the flat) .