Which of the kids is your favourite...Turbo Trainer or GPS?

hatbeard
hatbeard Posts: 1,087
edited October 2010 in Commuting chat
Ok so with a little help from some unexpected cashback from quidco yesterday I have about £220 of play money and I'm in a moral dilemna as to which of these two options I should go for and input would be appreciated...

option A) Buy a cycleops jet fluid pro turbo trainer

pros:
I am new to cycling and this time of year isn't the best for going on nice quiet evening rides to try and build up my stamina/leg muscles for the commute.

I also signed up with a triathlon group in my area last week to train with them running, swimming and cycling and they do a turbo session every weds, this would allow me to attend this until I feel ready for a big 'outdoors' training run with them.

cons:
A lot of people say trainers are boring. might get fed up with it quickly.

I live on the top floor flat and my landlord lives underneath and I'm worried a turbo used at home will be too noisy the floor below.

option B) Buy a forerunner 305 w/ HRM, bike speed/cadence add-on, bike mount and have money left over for some Torm baselayer/jersey type goings on.

pros:
I run a lot already and am getting fed up with the GPS on my iPhone.
Gives me speed/cadence info (don't yet have a bike computer)
HRM will be useful across any/all exercise I do

cons:
won't really be much use if the winter weather is preventing me from training outside.
Hat + Beard

Comments

• Cafewanda
    Cafewanda Posts: 2,788
    Surely only icy roads or driving rain would prevent you getting outdoors? I have it on good authority skin is waterproof and pubs would welcome the custom on whichever route you choose :)

Or swap flats with the landlord :wink:
  • cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    Turbo. Makes you a stronger cyclist. End of.

:twisted:

Note to self: practice what you preach :oops:
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."