Commuting: Practice first or just MTFU and do it?

hatbeard
hatbeard Posts: 1,087
edited October 2010 in Commuting chat
Hey all,

I'm a rookie commuter who only got his bike on friday (and has yet to actually ride it).

I'm planning on commuting Greenwich -> Farringdon on it but as someone who hasn't rode a bike in about 15 years the thought of doing battle with london traffic is a little err daunting.

I'm strongly thinking about just saying eff it and riding in tomorrow morning leaving nice and early and giving myself plenty of time to get there so i'm not stressing my speed etc

for all the commuters out there how did you get started? is it better to try and do a couple of rides on the weekend to get myself back in the saddle as it were or as the thread title says am I just being a big wuss and I need to MTFU and go do it?

the other option I thought of was taking the bike on the riverboat to london bridge / tower hill and cycling from there to cut the journey in two and ease myself into it.
Hat + Beard

Comments

• t0pc4t
    t0pc4t Posts: 947
    just crack on my friend!!

and welcome aboard
    Whether you're a king or a little street sweeper, sooner or later you'll dance with the reaper.

Cube Curve 2009
    Giant Anthem X4

FCN=6
  • pitchshifter
    pitchshifter Posts: 1,476
    edited October 2010
    I went through my commute on a weekend to get the best route with no time constraints so it was nice and relaxed. Worth doing if you are not sure of the way.

The traffic you will get used to and learn to master tricky situations. You can't practice this just have to go and deal with it.

Best of luck.
  • il_principe
    il_principe Posts: 9,155
    I went through my commute on a weekend to get the best route with no time constraints so it was nice and relaxed. Worth doing if your not sure of the way.

The traffic you will get used to and learn to master tricky situations. You can't practice this just have to go and deal with it.

Best of luck.