My Planet X SL Carbon Summer Bike

dru
dru Posts: 1,341
edited March 2011 in Your road bikes
I've never bought a brand new bike before, I've always had someone elses hand me downs or made my bikes up from second bits and bobs from various sources.

Over the summer I saw the offer from Planet X for an SL with a part SRAM Red build for under £1100 on pre-order. I thought about it long and hard............. then clicked the order button and waited until I got an email from Planet X saying mine was being built.

I brought it through Bike Science Bristol, this enabled me to get a 1/2 price bike fit at the same time.

On the day of collection.
arrival_day.jpg
I went to Bike Science in Bristol to pick it up and also had my first ever proper bike fitting as well.
I was fitted using the Retul system which involved me being covered in leds. Good job too as I found out I had been ridding in completely the wrong posistion for the last 12 months.

To give you an idea when I came away with the measurements I retrofitted them to my old bike which is now to become the winter hack and I’ve gone from a small frame to a medium, but I’ve also increased the stem from a 90mm to a 120mm and also raised the saddle by 45mm and had to had it go back by 40mm! :shock:

Anyhow, after getting her home I decided that I would look to make a few changes to her - so fired up the laptop and had a look about to see what bits and bobs I fancied for her.

I wanted to change the front end a bit and went for a 3T combination of the Ergonova Pro Bars and the ARX Team Stem.

I wanted to change the saddle too, I went for a Selle Italia Team Edition Thoork. I went for this as not only it was a lightweight saddle but also because it followed the white/red look of the bike and someone was selling some cheap on Ebay.

Whilst changing the seat I also went for a carbon K-Force seatpost over the original FSA Alloy SBS250