Build my own or buy from my LBS

NaNdO
NaNdO Posts: 5
edited October 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi

I am relatively new to mountainbiking. I have been in the saddle just over a year and have been well and truely bitten by the bug.

I was hoping some of you guys could help me... At the moment i have a specialized rockhopper and i am looking to sort out a full sus rig.

My dillemma is I was thinking about buying a frame and building my own then i recently seen a Lappiere Spicy 316 and its such a a sick bit of kit. so i am now torn...

any advice would be appreciated

Comments

• NaNdO
    i like the idea of building a bike just for the originality.. And to be a bit diffrent from everyone else on the trail.. I suppose it comes down to budget..

I mean how good of a bike could you build with around £3000.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    NaNdO wrote:
    I mean how good of a bike could you build with around £3000.
    Not as good as one you could buy. The big names get huge mass-purchase discounts, so you'd likely struggle to get close to a well specced bike for 3K
  • deal
    deal Posts: 857
    Do some maths and work it out, by the time you buy a frame, fork, and transmission a good chunk of you budget will be gone - major manufacturers can buy components at a fraction of retail price.

Also its worth noting that frames are pretty expensive, often its cheaper to buy a complete bike and strip components to sell than buy a frame Individually.
  • NaNdO
    Thanks guys point taken...

if i get the lappiere 316 il have some money to spare...

Can anyone recommend any other bikes??
  • Neily03
    Neily03 Posts: 295
    Build, build, build.
  • buy all the parts, online, that will save a few quid as you can shop around, but best to let lbs build it up for you unless youre really competent with all the tools otherwise it could prove very expensive if you strip something. good luck