glentress 8th - 12th Oct 2010

dovershark
dovershark Posts: 12
edited October 2010 in Routes
Morning all,

I'm off to Glentress on Friday with a few others and as this is my first time wondered if you maybe able to suggest some of the better trails to ride.
Im hoping that its not too wet however this wont stop us. Have you rode when its chucking it down up there before and whats it like?

Adie

Comments

• gs3
    gs3 Posts: 249
    All the trails are easily rideable nomatter what the weather - ice excepted.
    The only other (possible) exception, depending on skill levels, would be the 'Pie Run' as it is very 'rooty' and hence extremely slippery in the wet otherwise just go and have a blast..

• I hear the black route is not that great and the red is worth riding twice? We have a long weekend so i guess we will try as many as possible (energy permitting)
    I really cant wait however its going to a be long drive from down here in Canterbury!!
  • booldawg
    booldawg Posts: 290
    The Blue is worth a go too. Theres some lovely fast sweeping runs on it.

I only spent about half day there and did Red from bottom car park to the top and back down to Buzzards Nest car park then blue back up and down to bottom car park. Think it was about 3 hours riding.
    1999 Scott Vail - Work commute
    2015 Giant Anthem 27.5 SX - Weekend riding

East Hants MTB on Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/288056017965343/
  • The Black is good but a bit exposed if the weather's bad. The red is great, and it's dead easy to mix in some of the blue bits if you grab a trail map when you're there.
    Don't forget Innerleithen is only 5 minutes drive away and is fantastic.
    Depending on how long you have, I'd spend a morning doing the red at Innerleithen, get lunch at Glentress and do the blue routes in the afternoon. Then do the red route at Glentress on the other day.
    Hope this helps
    'Pain is just weakness leaving your body'

Charge Duster SS