One Man Tents.

Stoo61
Stoo61 Posts: 1,394
edited January 2011 in Tour & expedition
Looking to buy a one man tent for touring, mainly in the wilderness of Scotland.

Tents really are a thing I have no knowledge of so was wondering if people here use them and which ones.

At a quick glance the Aztec Rapido looks like decent value on Amazon but I wouldnt really know.

Cheers in advance for any help.

Comments

• I use this one
    http://www.outdoorworlddirect.co.uk/aca ... t_200.html
    No problems with it. Used in heavy rain, easy to put up/down.
    It is a 2 man but by the time i have gear in it it is full, porch area handy for keeping panniers in etc
    Peter
  • jimmcdonnell
    jimmcdonnell Posts: 328
    edited October 2010
    There are many, many options for one-person touring tents.

Before that though, have you thought about two more 'alternative' ideas - a good hooped bivvy bag, or a hammock? In terms of mnimal pack size and weight you won't find better. I'll post links to both for you later (at work, not enough time). I've camped with both and they're fantastic alternatives once you get your head round them. The hammock needs trees obviously, or a tree + a wall/fence etc.

One-person tents - try MSR, Mountain Hardwear - here's a link to a couple

http://www.tiso.com/shop/mountain-hardwear/sprite-1-tent/
    http://www.penroseoutdoors.co.uk/acatalog/One_Person_Tents.html

or this strange cycle-specific beast from Wiggle

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Topeak_Bikamper_(One_Person_Tent)/5360019086/

this Hilleberg is superb, I can personally vouch -

http://www.tiso.com/shop/hilleberg/akto/

And yes, I'm afraid the more you pay, then generally the better it will be (Hilleberg!)
    Litespeed Tuscany, Hope/Open Pro, Ultegra, pulling an Extrawheel trailer, often as not.

FCR 4 (I think?)
    Twitter: @jimjmcdonnell
  • Litespeed Tuscany, Hope/Open Pro, Ultegra, pulling an Extrawheel trailer, often as not.

FCR 4 (I think?)
    Twitter: @jimjmcdonnell