Disc's grinding?

Tommy Gun
Tommy Gun Posts: 6
edited September 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi All.

I'm still fairly new to all this, starting a few months ago after being roped into some team race. Been using a borrowed GT Aggressor which I gave back a few weeks ago. Decided to buy myself the new cube LTD Pro as a replacement. Anyway to the point...

Took it out for its first ride today and am a little concerned on a few points- I was hoping you can let me know whats what.

Firstly the bike seems to periodically make a grinding sound on the rear disc- I know they need to be broken in but is this right?

Also the breaks in general seem terrible, they need a real good squeeze to lock them up, and don't seem to make any difference until about 1/3 depressed. I checked with the guy in the shop who assured me they were bled- they're Shimano BR-M4451 hydr. discbrake (maybe the brakes are just rubbish?) Again I'm hoping this will improve over time.

With the brakes, how can I adjust the play in them. I would prefer it if they very sensitive- and only a small squeeze locked them out.

Thanks chaps!
Cube LTD Pro 2011

Comments

• Is the 'grinding' a constant noise?

The brakes don't have any free lever travel adjustment, that's the way Shimano have designed them to work. I'm sure someone will pop along with a tip on how to adjust the a ghetto way though.
  • x-isle
    x-isle Posts: 794
    When you say that they need a good squeeze, is the lever almost touching the handlebars when pulled enough to stop?

If so, it sounds like they may need a bleed (get the shop to do it if you are not happy doing it yourself, remember that Shimano use their own organic fluid and not dot 4 or 5.1 fluid).

If they are "hard" enough and not travelling almost all the way to the bars, it seems as though you may have contaminated pads/disks (it could be that they haven't bedded in yet, but I'm sure they should be).