Is it safe..??

ollie_lucas1985
ollie_lucas1985 Posts: 325
edited September 2010 in MTB general
Ok so I did look through the topic headders and couldnt find a real home for it but my question but here it is..

Well I dont have any cycling buddies that go out or even own a bike so I cycle on my own all the time, which may I add I like..

but the question really is would I be safe going to trail centers on my own with no buddy to look out for me? I'm fairly new to trail riding.. e.g. i've never been before

I'm not near any trail centers so I would have to stop over somewhere as there a fair old drive..

What about the peak district or somewhere not many people go, I'm thinking this isnt a good idea..?

Ollie

Comments

• biff55
    biff55 Posts: 1,404
    many folk ride alone , through choice or otherwise.
    has its pro's and con's just like riding in a group.
    its completely safe , just be prepared ( phone , food , spares , check weather , carry maps etc, etc.)
    no probs at trail centres as there's nearly always other riders using the tracks , especially at wk-ends.
    rode gisburn forest alone a while back on a weekday virtually no-one else there but didn't feel unsettled in any way , just ride within your limits.
    would think twice about doing any DH or jumps alone though.
  • _jon_
    _jon_ Posts: 366
    edited September 2010
    Depend if I'm there at the time (I throw sticks into people's spokes :twisted: )

Seriously though I think you'd be safe enough, I go around Cannock most weekends on my own as well as up to the Peak district. There's normally plenty of people around especially at Cannock.

I'd be a bit more wary of going on my own at night (but that's because I'm a chicken :) )

• neddie
    neddie Posts: 101
    I go buy my self also ( No friends)

Usually to whinlatter which is only 20 mins away. i have took the wife once and she wandered round the shop buying stuff.
    Boardman Comp.

Norco Fluid