Traffic experiences out of London

2»

Comments

• rhext
    rhext Posts: 1,639
    Another one from Derby way.....

.....generally commuting here is a pleasant experience. Within the outer ring road, the council have gone to a fair amout of trouble to keep cars and bikes apart, and with a degree of success. You can get to most places either on fast low-traffic or traffic-free routes should you so desire. Getting to the ring road can involve quiet country roads (nice, but time consuming) or a quick hack up the A6. Occasionally you get people passing a bit close on the A6 which can be disconcerting, but there are bad drivers everywhere I suppose.

I don't get much problem with aggression. I've been commuting on my bike for about 3 years now, and I reckon I've had maybe 4 'encounters', only one serious. Someone almost took me out on a roundabout, decided it was my fault and had a bit of a yell. And then 2 or 3 occasions where a yoof decided it would be good fun to shout abuse out of his car window. I don't count the wolf-whistles - at my age I'm just pleased I still get them!
  • Dudu
    Dudu Posts: 4,637
    Gussio wrote:
    Seem to get hooted at more on the weekends when riding outside of London, 2-abreast, than when commuting through town. Gets my goat first thing on a Sunday morning. Guess people are in a hurry to get to church.

A lot of this is due to misreading of the Highway Code, which advises "Do not ride MORE THAN two abreast".
    flateric wrote:
    CiB wrote:
    had a run in with someone walking there dog who refused to move out of the way the shouts "you should'nt be riding on the F'ing footpath" and then gets even more irate when told its a cyclepath!!!

Well he would, wouldn't he. People HATE it being pointed out they're in the wrong, especially if they're thick with it.