What is "good"?

Devon Lad
Devon Lad Posts: 75
edited September 2010 in Road beginners
I've been sifting through the forums for a while now, and am observing various average speeds, and also people asking the question "what is a good average speed?". Obviously this would depend on the area, but as a beginner I have no real way of telling what is a hard route and what isn't! :lol: The short route I do is 13km, often I do circuits, it contains 150m of ascent and descent, does this help? I was just wondering what a decent average speed to aim for over this kind of course would be?
Thanks alot
Will

Comments

• petemadoc
    petemadoc Posts: 2,331
    Obviously this is different for everyone but for me I'd definitely want to stay over 20mph if I was doing a 13km ride.
  • :shock: 20mph, I do the circuit twice but, still, it looks like I have some serious work to do! :lol:
  • Pretre
    Pretre Posts: 355
    Best thing to do is to steadily increase the mileage - 26km is pretty short for a road bike ride - & frequency & then try to to do the longer route in the same time as the shorter one, etc.
    Also, join a club - usually easy enough to find one in your local area that is happy to have less experienced/fit riders along on their more relaxed rides - often called a "cafe" ride or something similar
  • petemadoc
    I'd probably drop under 20 if I did two loops and I weigh under 10 st so the smaller hills aren't too much of a problem for me. 20mph always seems to be the magic number I aim for on short less hilly rides though