First Ride Out - Merlin Malt 1

endrick
endrick Posts: 30
edited May 2011 in MTB beginners
OK so I had my first proper ride out today on my new Merlin Malt 1 and thought I'd give it a quick review. I am a beginner and have only had one bike to compare it against so is probably not worth much.

About me. I am a big lad (20st +) and was looking for a bike to help me exercise and shift a few pounds. I have a Giant XTC but it is getting on a bit so I decided to buy new instead of spend money upgraded.

I had a budget of £500 - £750. I choose the Malt 1 based on its reviews and the fact I could upgrade components without having to pay for the ones that came as standard. I was able to speak to Merlin cycles and get advice on the components esp re my size.

I went for the Malt 1 and upgraded the Groupset to the SLX and the forks to Recon Gold. I then added the race face upgrade to make it a round £800 plus postage.

My first impression of the bike was how sexy it is, not the best way to judge a bike but the Silver and blue are awesome (especially with some matching superstar flats).

My first few rides where mainly on the roads nipping to and from work to ride it while i could. My first thought was that the bike felt small for me (I am 6'1 and as already mentioned carrying a little extra), I got the 19". My giant was 20/21 I think.

After a couple of short trips I got used to the riding position and did not notice it.

Today I took it for its first off road trip, nothing serious as I am not ready, or in shape, to start fling myself around. Well the bike was a dream it felt a lot lighter than my giant and handled everything well. I really felt the benefit of the upgrade in gears, I have not yet messed with the forks yet as I need to do a bit of research as how to set them up for me.