Newbie bike-to-work schema

doublereds
doublereds Posts: 9
edited September 2010 in Commuting chat
Greetz all!

Just got myself registered here so I can start to feed off your biking knowledge :)

I'm 30 something and not owned a bike at least a decade, my last bike may well have been a Grifter!

Reason I'm here is because my work is doing a bike-to-work schema, so I have the opportunity to buy a half decent bike and get it for a good price.
By half decent I mean a couple/few hundred quid.... I know some people spend over double that, but they are what I would call "pro", or "rich" :)

I will be reading the beginners thread, get some useful info, and be reading here for routes, as I see on main page this site has some cycle routes.

Tbh I am a true newbie, I know there are mountain and road and hybrid, but not a lot about each, other than thicker tyres on the mountain ones.

As I live in London where mountains are few and far between, my guess is a road or hybrid would be best suited.

That is all for now - just stopping to say hello

See you on road!
[when I get my bike]

cheers!
ɹǝʌo llǝɟ noʎ 'sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟI

Comments

• t0pc4t
    t0pc4t Posts: 947
    hello!
    Whether you're a king or a little street sweeper, sooner or later you'll dance with the reaper.

Cube Curve 2009
    Giant Anthem X4

FCN=6
  • doublereds wrote:
    my guess is a road or hybrid would be best suited.

What you need is a....Grifter! :wink:
  • Gussio
    Gussio Posts: 2,452
    gbsahne wrote:
    or a chopper

Be lucky to get a Chopper for a couple of hundred quid - they have all been snapped by the Hoxton Crew :roll:
  • doublereds wrote:
    Greetz all!

Just got myself registered here so I can start to feed off your biking knowledge :)

I'm 30 something and not owned a bike at least a decade, my last bike may well have been a Grifter!