South-West TourRide vs. Tour of Dartmoor

TheDrunkMonk
TheDrunkMonk Posts: 181
Hi guys/gals

I know this can be hard to answer, but have any of you that rode the 110 mile TourRide the other day, also ridden the Tour of Dartmoor 106 miler? I'm trying to get a comparison of the difficulty.
I've been doing 60-70 mile sportives for a few years. Always a bit tubby, I guess I'd always called myself an enthusiastic commuter. I've tried to take this year a bit more seriously, but still only done 3 x 100+ milers (all this year) . I did the TourRide and I didn't struggle too much, but I have memories of doing the 85 mile short Tour of Dartmoor when I was just starting out, and it's still the toughest day I've had on a bike. Obviously I'm a bit fitter now, but how would it compare to the TourRide?

Comments

• vs
    vs Posts: 468
    Tour ride was fairly easy in comparison. Tour of Dartmoor is way, way harder... more comparable to The Black Rat North Devon which is harder still...hope that gives you an idea :wink:
  • Oh...
  • matt581
    matt581 Posts: 219
    vs wrote:
    Tour ride was fairly easy in comparison. Tour of Dartmoor is way, way harder... more comparable to The Black Rat North Devon which is harder still...hope that gives you an idea :wink:

I'm doing the Tour of Dartmoor this Saturday as my first sportive. Wish I hadn't read this!!! :shock: lol
  • vs
    Well, be prepared for perhaps the hardest start to any sportive. If it is the same course as the last couple of years there is a 25% hill in the first couple of miles which catches everyone out; it's the only sportive where I have seen people walking so very soon. Then it continues to climb on to the moor; if I remember rightly there is 1500 feet of climbing in the first 10 miles. However it's a rewarding ride to complete. Good luck!
  • I thought the tour of dartmoor was fairly easy compared to the tour ride.
    horses for courses i s'pose 8)
  • vs
    SERIOUSLY!!!!

AND YOU'VE REALLY DONE BOTH?