long distance touring

adventurecyclist
adventurecyclist Posts: 3
edited October 2010 in Tour & expedition
Hi I'm new to cycling, i'm planning a yr long trip around New Zealand and South East Asia. i need help with what bike to do this on.

I have a specialized sectur road bike- can this be converted to a tourer?

Should I get a specific touring bike? New or 2nd hand?

Should I build a bike specific to my needs?

My budget is around £1000 for all the kit inc panniers etc.

HELPPPPPP!!!
:?:
Thanks Laura

Comments

• Get another bike. That speed maching won't last the distance loaded up with stuff - and I can't see how you would put panniers on it anyway.

Maybe you should look at a bike like this Thorn:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Thorn-Club-Tour-B ... 35ac5fd8b4

Second-hand bikes are good. You just have to make sure the components aren't shagged out.

You can also find second-hand panniers on eBay. Makes like Carradice, Ortieb, Altura and Karrimor are good.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/carradice-pannier ... 2a0a3446d3
    It's an uphill climb to the bottom
  • priory
    priory Posts: 743
    bearing in mind the limited budget I would look at a raleigh royal or dawes tourer or trekking bike.

I have heard people say that 26inch wheelss and tyres are easier to find in remote places, but the trend to make tourers out of reasonable quality no-sus mtb's seems to have passed here.

If your lbs true the wheels before you go I hear that the spokes should not be dead tight for rough roadds aand touring longevity
    Raleigh Eclipse, , Dahon Jetstream XP, Raleigh Banana, Dawes super galaxy, Raleigh Clubman

http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z122 ... =slideshow
  • andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    priory wrote:
    I have heard people say that 26inch wheelss and tyres are easier to find in remote places, but the trend to make tourers out of reasonable quality no-sus mtb's seems to have passed here.