Winter Riding

sparked
sparked Posts: 57
edited September 2010 in MTB beginners
Just wondering if anyone could offer me some advise please, I'm new to MTB and this will be my first winter, are there any tips that you could pass on for riding in snow, that's if we get any this year again that is. I ride a HT Kona and I'm with it being my first winter was going to stick to the roads for the time being, so would tyre choice be something to look at as well.

Thanks in anticipation of any help with this matter

Mark
Ride my bike until I get home

Comments

• Get on the trails!!!
    "Encyclopaedia is a fetish for very small bicycles"
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    Mud tyres eg Maxxis Medusa are very good in snow.

Actually riding in snow is fun for about the first 10 minutes.
  • .blitz wrote:

Why what happens after the first 10 Minutes? :D something we Noobs need to know about?
    "Never Give Up, Never Surrender"

Fuji Nevada 1.0
  • He means that after 10 minutes, it all gets a bit old, and you start wishing it would all just melt and fcuk off!

To be honest, I didn't mind snow riding last year, I had some pretty good rides when it was really deep, I was using very high volume, very wide, mud tyres, and it was VERY hard work.

Something like a Surly Pugsley is actually designed around beach and snow riding, but for the 5 days of the decade we have snow, it may not be worth investing in a whole new bike. :lol:
  • .blitz
    ...after 10 minutes, it all gets a bit old, and you start wishing it would all just melt and fcuk off!
    QFT :)
  • Paul 8v
    Paul 8v Posts: 5,458
    Get out there on the trails as above, once you've mastered riding in mud and snow Summer will seem like cheating ;-)
  • Paul 8v
    What are the recomendations for tyre pressures, higher than normal or lower?
  • .blitz
    I generally lose a few psi front & rear in a misguided attempt to increase traction but for me (clumsy trail rider) it doesn't make much difference during Winter.