What to wear for Winter biking

IDave
IDave Posts: 223
edited September 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi Folks,

I'm new to MTB, and I have enjoyed the relatively nice summer we have had, however it's starting to get colder now and shorts and T-Shirt are just not suitable attire any longer.

What do you guys wear when you are out on the trails in the winter?

(Some links to places to purchase would be nice too)

Many Thanks

Comments

• i was wearing trackies and a hoodie last year, probibally do the same. i look like a chav (im also 19) ill admit, but its cheaper than bike specific stuff, kept me warm and was bearable in the rain so long as i wasnt in the middle of an epic ride.
  • chedabob
    chedabob Posts: 1,133
    Shorts, hoody and a good dose of MTFU :P
  • Cheap Primark gear. They sometimes have "sports" stuff. While not as good as the proper MTB gear you can buy, it's cheap, warm and you can throw them away after the winter without much monetary loss. Hoodies are only a tenner or so.

However, if you're a fashion tart, then I'm too much of a skinflint for advice there :wink:
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • IDave
    Unfortunately there is no Primark in Edinburgh, nearest is Glasgow as far as I know. There are however loads of over priced LBS's!

I was hoping to do most of my shopping online.

Maybe I'd be better with some good Crudcatchers a hoody and some trackies from JD sports.

On the negative side, I was at Glentress today and I felt like a bit of an idiot wearing a hoody, as everyone else was all in their MTB gear and I looked like a ned who had just knicked a bike and taken it for a ride. :oops:
  • neninja
    neninja Posts: 424
    I'll stick with shorts until it gets properly cold and will then through a set of Brooks running leggings underneath them

On top a long sleeve merino top and a windproof gillet are sufficient for all but the coldest windiest days.

I'd sweat like mad in a hoody
  • bamba
    bamba Posts: 856