Argon 18 Gallium bike good deal or not?

turboslave
turboslave Posts: 178
edited September 2010 in Road buying advice
Hello all,

I am in the market for a good alround fast training bike, my LBS has offered to build me an Argon 18 Gallium.

Full 105 groupo
Mavic Askium Race wheels
Deda finishing kit

All in it come to £1600, I will be using cycle scheme so this should come in at around £900.

What do you think, is it worth it?

TS

Comments

• Definitely NOT good value especially as the new 2011 has been announced, there is a lot better value out there at the moment, you could pick up a Giant Advanced 3 for that or even less, MUCH better frame and I'm a Gallium Pro owner !

If you want something a bit more exotic try this Willier Izoard

http://www.bikebuster.com/details/120533.html

or check out the Orbea Onix at Epic

http://www.epic-cycles.co.uk/Orbea_Onix.html

Really racy steal at the mo is this Scott Addict at Slane

http://www.slanecycles.com/scott-addict ... -3352.html
  • It's cheaper than if you got it from Epic Cycles. So if you look at it like that then it is a good deal.
    Bianchi. There are no alternatives only compromises!
    I RIDE A KONA CADABRA -would you like to come and have a play with my magic link?
  • Hell yes its a good deal . THe Gallium is a fantastic piece of kit , (provided that its the 2010 model) . RRP on these framesets is £1200 alone . another plus point is that is a bit different than all the other run of the mill carbon framesets on the market. Add up the whole packets and let the head rule the heart.
  • Thanks for the replies all,

I thought it was a pretty good deal myself, I wanted a more unbiased opinion of the bike package reputaton ect, so I can now let you know it is a 2010 model frame currently built with sram rival and cheap shimano wheels for £2100 from a dealer not renound for heavy discounts.