H'fords Customer service

yanktanks
yanktanks Posts: 60
edited October 2010 in MTB general
My Partner recently had her bike given a free service at our local H'fords we collected the bike in the car and later the day decided to go for a ride, when she started to ride the bike ( about 4 yards ) the bak wheel moved against the frame and threw her off when I inspected the bike the back and front wheel nuts were only hand tight

I e-mailed Halfords customer services on the 21st Aug and have not had a reply yet,
I decided to phone there customer services and was told " We legally have 28 days to reply and will get back to you by then"

I am an ex manager of a large motorcycle dealers, and I phoned back customers the same day and always got issues dealt with within a day or two maximum.

has anyone else suffered from this poor customer service and any advise where i should go next as i find this totally unexeptable

Comments

• chedabob
    chedabob Posts: 1,133
    I found the opposite: Everything was overtightened. I didn't bother to take mine back for the 6 week check because I had an inkling they'd mess with it after I'd corrected their mistakes.
  • Email? Telephone? Go back to the store, talk to the manager face to face.

Although I'm sure there must be some competent mechanics working for Halfords, I wouldn't ride a bike put together by their staff. But then I'd always give the bike a bounce and a once over before riding if it had been serviced by anyone without my being present, just to check if anything is loose.
  • Bar Shaker
    Bar Shaker Posts: 2,313
    The stores are Marmite. Good ones are excellent, bad ones are shocking.

Much like local bike shops.
    Boardman Elite SLR 9.2S
    Boardman FS Pro
  • Bignige
    Bignige Posts: 223
    I'd rather beat my testicles with a steak mallet than let Halfords anywhere near my bike..... :shock:
    Ride it like you stole it.........Yeah Baby!!!

2008 Spesh Enduro SL Expert
    2010 Fuji Roubaix 1.0 Ltd Edition