Trek FX v Giant Rapid v Giant Defy

laughingontheinside
edited September 2010 in Commuting general
Hi all, a newbie here looking for some buying advice. Anyone ride any of the above bikes and have feedback on their pros and cons. I'm looking for something that can take a full set of mudguards and is a little more hard wearing than a out and out race bike i.e. plenty of frame clearance for mudguards and larger tyres.
Thaks for any replies.

Comments

• waddlie
    waddlie Posts: 542
    I have a Giant Rapid 1 and have already convinced two other members to get Rapids too!

The Giant Rapids will take the full length guards ("fenders") Giant make for the Defy range. Not sure what you want in the way of larger tyres, I'm happy with the 25s that came on mine and haven't looked at clearance for anything bigger.

In terms of being more hard wearing, the Rapid is essentially a Giant Defy road bike with a flat bar and altered geometry to make the flat bar work. Road bikes are harder wearing than people tend to give them credit for and the Rapid/Defy (and probably the Trek too) will take pretty much anything you throw at them as long as you'e not planning on using them for mountain biking.

Not sure from your post what your riding style/requirements are, but I am proper happy with my Rapid.
    Rules are for fools.
  • I have a Defy and suspect that it will not meet your requirements. A friend has one too and, in order to fit Crud Racer 'guards, he had to change the original 25mm to 23mm. If you want clearance for bigger tyres and guards, it won't fit the bill, I'm afraid.

Apart from that, I'm very happy with mine though I know a couple of people with them that have had wheel problems (loose and snapped spokes) though Giant has sorted them out in both cases.

HTH,

_
  • I have a Trek 7.5 FX and has so far it has been brilliant. Comes with 32mm as standard and I have fitted a full set of bontrager mudguards to it.