Do fat... *cough* big boned people go through more tyres?

phal44
phal44 Posts: 240
edited September 2010 in MTB general
Since I started riding on some more rocky paths aroun the South Downs here Ive had a few punctures in the back tyre.

Last time I decided I had enough so I got a wider tyre and got a DH tube and put a kevlar liner in it! It kinda worked since I havent had any punctures since but I checked the tyre closely yesterday and saw lots of small slices/cuts/splits in the tyre (not perished rubber :P ) Only had this one for 3-4 months max and it looks like Ill need a new one soon? lol

I weigh 17st so I guess the back tyre takes a bit of a beating on a hard tail! Do other similarly gravity challenged people have problems with tyres dying quickly?

Comments

• I'm 16 stone and have not had an issue with UST Ignitors, High Rollers or Captai2Bliss which are pretty thin. Only issue I had was a small slit in my Trail Rakers but I'm sure that was because I left the rubber outside ober the summer. Sounds like there's some sharp bits and pieces around your trails.
  • mak3m
    mak3m Posts: 1,394
    NO cant get a 26inch around my waist

mrs maks had to cut me out :oops:

but i am heavier than you and ride xc on cheap tyres never had a problem, cept for them damn thorns :)
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    im a big wobbly 19 odd stone bloke and ive never worn a tyre out
  • I'm a fat f*ck..........and yes I wear tyres out.
    Mainly side wall gashes from the rocky bits, yet to wear out the tread completely.
    Also shed a spare tyre in the process of busting sidewalls too.
    Still have a few spare tyres to go :shock:
  • Splottboy
    Splottboy Posts: 3,695
    Only if you pour onion gravy over em.

They look like a Cumberland sausage then.

Mmmmmm....
  • thaibog
    thaibog Posts: 271
    I go through tyres like a baby does nappies...19 stone and hard on my bike

WTB velociraptor , Panaracer Fire XC , Cinder. Trailraker..all good for a long time