Do I need a winter bike?

2»

Comments

• rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    make your winter bike the gym and running ?

Gym costs more than a winter bike and runners always look depressed! For a hundred quid, why would you choose a gym and running over cycling?

I'll use my new C2W commuter road bike over winter except when ice and salt are around - then I'll bring out the MTB which doesn't care about such things!
    Faster than a tent.......
  • What you have to think is will you use it if you buy one, I am just new to cycling and really love it but the idea of going out on my bike when its blowing a gale and the rain/snow is belting off my window, I know what I'm like and that wont happen whether it was on my good road bike or even on an old hack, but what I would do is get wrapped up and go out on a MTB, which you already have, I think they could be good fun in crappy conditions. On the occasional winter days when you get a nice sunny crisp winters day I would be out there getting the miles on the road bike, and fully prepared to wash it down at the end of the day, and for the really miserable winter days, the gym membership will be getting used!

Bobby
    getting faster, fitter, and skinnier by the day!
  • andy162
    andy162 Posts: 634
    JGSI wrote:
    Ben6899 wrote:
    Single speed.
    Useless around here...
    Does anyone know if the Ribble Audax/winter bike is delivered with mudguards?
    Its nice little promo pic shows them applied.
    I would ring but have had enough of being on the phone today.

The Ribble's come with guards on them. I've got one with Tiagra/Aksiums. Cost about £600. Quite a comfy thing & it's spot on for racking up winter mileage.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    andy162 wrote:
    JGSI wrote:
    Ben6899 wrote:
    Single speed.
    Useless around here...
    Does anyone know if the Ribble Audax/winter bike is delivered with mudguards?
    Its nice little promo pic shows them applied.